Skip to main content

Please wait ...

Sarah McClanahan, DO

Sarah E. McClanahan, DO is an Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Oxley Chair of Integrated Program of Assertive Community Treatment at the University of Oklahoma School of Community Medicine. She completed her Bachelor of Science degree in Biochemistry at Oklahoma Baptist University prior to receiving her Doctor of Osteopathy degree at Oklahoma State University. Following completion of her medical training, she completed 4 years of training in general psychiatry at the University of Oklahoma School of Community Medicine, also serving as chief resident. Dr. McClanahan served as Medical Service Corp Officer in the Oklahoma National Guard from 2009-2013 and during residency as Behavioral Health Office in the 120th Engineer Battalion of the U.S. Army from 2013 to 2017. Dr. McClanahan currently serves as Medical Director of the University of Oklahoma Integrated Program of Assertive Community Treatment (IMPACT), providing psychiatric outreach care to patients with chronic and persistent mental illness. Dr. McClanahan also provides outpatient psychiatric care in the OU Physicians Psychiatry Clinics at the Schusterman, serves as the psychiatric consultant for the Mobile Medical Intervention Team, and serves as Behavioral Health Medical Director of the Sooner Health Access Network, serving Medicaid patients in the state of Oklahoma. Dr. McClanahan is the primary clinical supervisor for psychiatry residents learning to practice community psychiatry in the IMPACT program and in the outpatient setting. Dr. McClanahan also provides numerous hours of in-class instruction to general psychiatry residents, serving as Course Coordinator for the first year Introduction to Psychiatry Course and Coordinator of Simulation Training in the Department of Psychiatry. She serves on two important committees, the Program Evaluation Committee and the Clinical Competency Committee, both critical to the ongoing accreditation of the general psychiatry residency program. She also serves on the psychiatry department Wellness Committee as co-chair, the Medical Directors Committee, and the Patient Safety and Quality Committee. Dr. McClanahan has received numerous awards for her excellence in patient care during including receiving the Outstanding Inpatient Service Award, the Outstanding Research Award, the Outstanding Resident Award on IMPACT (twice), the Outstanding Service on Consultation and Liaison Psychiatry Award, all from the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Oklahoma School of Community Medicine. She was also the winner of the oral presentation contest at the OU Tulsa Clinical Vignette Symposium in 2016. She was awarded the Fulltime Faculty of the Year award by the residents in the department of psychiatry for the 2019-2020 academic year. Dr. McClanahan is board certified by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology and is a member of several professional organizations including the American Psychiatric Association, the Oklahoma Psychiatric Physicians Association, the Tulsa Psychiatry Association, the American Association of Community Psychiatrists, the American Medical Association, the American Osteopathic Association, and the Christian Medical and Dental Association.

(Dr. McClanahan has no financial relationships or affiliations to disclose)